Announcements & News

Mayor & Council

Mayor and Council

Whole Council

Our City Council is composed of six council members and one Mayor. Each position of the City Council is voted on by the citizens of Hampton. The Council meets on the second Tuesday of the month and begin with a workshop starting at 6:00 p.m. followed by a regular meeting starting at 6:30 p.m  in the Council Chambers, located at 17 East Main Street South, Hampton, Georgia 30228. For a copy of the approved minutes from past meetings, please visit the City Information Tab and click on the Council Minutes Tab.

For a list of the 2015 Meeting Schedule, please click the link below:

2015 Council Meeting Dates

All of our Council members receive mail at PO BOX 400, Hampton, Georgia 30228.

Steve Hutchison, Mayor- [email protected]

Steve Hutchison

Mayor Hutchison was born and raised in Nashville Tennessee.  He studied criminal justice and was a police officer in Goodlettsville Tennessee for ten years. Mayor Hutchison served 27 years in the United States Air Force and retired in 2005 as a Master Sergeant.  His service included Operation Desert Storm and several locations around the world.

He served on the Governor’s Drug Task Force in Nashville Tennessee and worked with the Last Chance Boot Camp for juvenile offenders.  In addition, his work included the Buddies of Nashville Tennessee program; a program that mentors young adolescents who live in a one parent household.

Mayor Hutchison currently works for the Henry County Sheriff’s Department as a Detention Officer.  He served on the Hampton City Council for five years before being elected as Mayor of Hampton.

He and his wife, Linda, have been married for twelve years and have six children and six grandchildren.  They pride themselves in being a close blended family and enjoy family time together.  Three of their children and two of their grand children live in Nashville Tennessee.  The other three children and four grand children live in Henry County.  Mayor Hutchison’s wife is a lifelong resident of Henry County and he chose to make Henry County his home.

He enjoys gardening,   canning, and, cooking.  He and his wife enjoy weekend trips to historic towns, the mountains, and Hilton Head Island.   Time spent with family and friends in their home for dinners, cookouts, and holidays is an additional all time favorite.   It is never unusual to see their home full of grand children, family and guests.  There is always a pot of coffee on for guests wishing to just drop in.

Mary Ann Mitcham, Councilman- 678-920-4231;  [email protected]

Mary Ann Mitcham

Charlie Hearn, Councilman- 678-920-0785;  [email protected]

Charlie Hearn

Henry Byrd, Councilman-678-449-6734; [email protected]

Henry Byrd

Zakery Daniel, Councilman-678-920-0833; [email protected]

Zakery Daniel

Marty Meeks, Councilman-770-891-3543;  [email protected]

Marty Meeks

Harold (Willie) Walls, Councilman- 678-920-8652;  [email protected]

Willie Walls